Wednesday, March 9, 2011

If I'd Only Known, I'd Have Bought A New Dress!



footnoteMaven: This unnamed woman shares artifacts from days gone by -- lyrics, poems, photos, illustrations and historical documents -- to illuminate our ancestors' worlds. (She's not too highbrow for humor, though: check out her lyrics to "Good Citations," to the tune of "Good Vibrations"). The Maven has a fun, smart voice of someone you'd want to join for tea. (To whomever wrote the blog descriptions - Bravo! They are great.)

THANK YOU FAMILY TREE!
TEAS ON ME

THANK YOU!

To Family Tree Magazine for the opportunity to be
recognized for my work by you and my readers.

To my family, Mr. Maven in particular, for their encouragement
on those days I just want to pull the covers over my head
and go back to bed.

And a very special thank you to the Expert Panel.
Lisa Louise Cooke, Dear Myrtle,
Randy Seaver, and Thomas MacEntee.
This can not have been an easy task, but this is a group who
is committed to ethics and integrity in genealogy blogging.
It's the perfect panel!

And thank you for the selection of my two other blog contributions:
Shades Of The Departed
(Research Avice/How To Category)
The Association Of Graveyard Rabbits
(Cemetery Category)
It's been a very good year.

This is the footnoteMaven's second nomination and second win. I am extremely fortunate, but before we all start to believe our own publicity (think Charlie Sheen), let me remind everyone of the FAN-TASTIC Blogs in each category that were nominated and regardless, keep on keepin' on. Viewed in this light the Family Tree 40 2011 Genealogy Blog Award is a very humbling experience.

1. EVERYTHING Category:

Clue Wagon, http://www.cluewagon.com/
Creative Gene, http://creativegene.blogspot.com/
Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter, http://www.eogn.com
Elyse's Genealogy Blog, http://elysesgenealogyblog.com/
Family History Tracing, http://familyhistorytracing.blogspot.com
footnoteMaven, http://www.footnoteMaven.com
Greta's Genealogy Bog, http://gretabog.blogspot.com/
Olive Tree Genealogy, http://olivetreegenealogy.blogspot.com
Relatively Curious About Genealogy, http://relativelycurious.blogspot.com
Roots and Rambles, http://rootsandrambles.blogspot.com/
SpittalStreet.com, http://www.spittalstreet.com
The Educated Genealogist, http://sherifenley.blogspot.com/
The We Tree Genealogy Blog, http://wetree.blogspot.com/
You Go Genealogy Girls, http://yougogenealogygirls.blogspot.com

Congratulations Top 40:

Clue Wagon, http://www.cluewagon.com/
Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter, http://www.eogn.com
footnoteMaven, http://www.footnoteMaven.com
The We Tree Genealogy Blog, http://wetree.blogspot.com/
Olive Tree Genealogy, http://olivetreegenealogy.blogspot.com


2. CEMETERIES Category:

Cemetery Explorers
, http://cemeteryexplorers.blogspot.com/
Digital Cemetery Walk, http://digitalcemeterywalk.blogspot.com/
Escape to the Silent Cities, http://escapetothesilentcities.blogspot.com/
Gen Wish List, http://genwishlist.blogspot.com
Granite in My Blood, http://granite-in-my-blood.blogspot.com/
Gravestoned, http://gravestoned.blogspot.com
Over Thy Dead Body, http://stiffsandstones.blogspot.com/
The Association of Graveyard Rabbits, http://thegraveyardrabbit.com/
Tombstone Territory, http://tombstoneterritory.blogspot.com

Congratulations Top 40:

The Association of Graveyard Rabbits, http://thegraveyardrabbit.com/
Digital Cemetery Walk, http://digitalcemeterywalk.blogspot.com/
Escape to the Silent Cities, http://escapetothesilentcities.blogspot.com/
Granite in My Blood, http://granite-in-my-blood.blogspot.com/
Gravestoned, http://gravestoned.blogspot.com

3. TECHNOLOGY Category:

Ancestry Insider, http://ancestryinsider.blogspot.com
Dienekes' Anthropology Blog, http://dienekes.blogspot.com/
Family Oral History Using Digital Tools, http://familyoralhistory.us/news
Genealogy's Star, http://genealogysstar.blogspot.com/
GeneaNet Genealogy Blog, http://genealogyblog.geneanet.org/
JLog, http://www.jgen.ws/jlog/
MacGenealogy.org, http://www.macgenealogy.org/
MobileGenealogy.com, http://www.mobilegenealogy.com
Moultrie Creek Gazette, http://moultriecreek.us
Renee's Genealogy Blog, http://rzamor1.blogspot.com

Congratulations Top 40:

Ancestry Insider, http://ancestryinsider.blogspot.com
Dienekes' Anthropology Blog, http://dienekes.blogspot.com/
Moultrie Creek Gazette, http://moultriecreek.us
Genealogy's Star, http://genealogysstar.blogspot.com/
Renee's Genealogy Blog, http://rzamor1.blogspot.com

4. HERITAGE GROUPS Category:

Acadian & French-Canadian Ancestral Home, http://acadian-ancestral-home.blogspot.com
Anglo-Celtic Connections, http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/
Black and Red Journal, http://www,blackandredjournal.blogspot.com
Donna's Ireland blog, http://moughty.com/Site/Ireland_Blog/Ireland_Blog.html
Geniaus, http://geniaus.blogspot.com
George Geder Evangelist for African Ancestored Genealogy, http://gedergenealogy.com/
Georgia Black Crackers, http://georgiablackcrackers.blogspot.com/
Help! The Faerie Folk Hid My Ancestors, http://irishfamilyresearch.blogspot.com/
Luxegen Genealogy, http://www.luxegen.ca
Of Trolls And Lemons, http://haugenhistory.blogspot.com/
Scottish GENES, http://scottishancestry.blogspot.com
The French Genealogy Blog, http://french-genealogy.typepad.com/genealogie/
The Knowles Collection, http://knowlescollection.blogspot.com/
The Scottish Emigration Blog, http://scottishemigration.blogspot.com/
Tracing the Tribe, http://tracingthetribe.blogspot.com/
Wandering and wondering (a'spaidsearachd agus a'meòrachadh), http://direcleit.blogspot.com

Congratulations Top 40:

Acadian & French-Canadian Ancestral Home, http://acadian-ancestral-home.blogspot.com
Georgia Black Crackers, http://georgiablackcrackers.blogspot.com/
Help! The Faerie Folk Hid My Ancestors, http://irishfamilyresearch.blogspot.com/
Luxegen Genealogy, http://www.luxegen.ca
Tracing the Tribe, http://tracingthetribe.blogspot.com/

5. RESEARCH ADVICE/HOW-TO Category:

a3Genealogy, http://a3Genealogy.blogspot.com
FamHist, http://famhist2.blogspot.com
Family History Research Tips, http://familyhistorytips.wordpress.com/
Gena's Genealogy, http://philibertfamily.blogspot.com/
Genealogy Tip of the Day, http://genealogytipoftheday.blogspot.com
NARAtions: The Blog of the United States National Archives, http://blogs.archives.gov/online-public-access/
Paula's Genealogical Eclectica, http://paulastuartwarren.blogspot.com/
Personal Past Meditations, http://www.thepersonalpast.com
Pollyblog, http://pk-pollyblog.blogspot.com
Shades of the Departed, http://www.shadesofthedeparted.com/
The Armchair Genealogist, http://www.thearmchairgenealogist.com
The Family Curator, http://www.thefamilycurator.com/

Congratulations Top 40:

The Armchair Genealogist, http://www.thearmchairgenealogist.com
The Family Curator, http://www.thefamilycurator.com/
Genealogy Tip of the Day, http://genealogytipoftheday.blogspot.com
NARAtions: The Blog of the United States National Archives, http://blogs.archives.gov/online-public-access/
Shades of the Departed, http://www.shadesofthedeparted.com/

6. LOCAL/REGIONAL RESEARCH Category:

Alberta Family Histories Society Blog
, http://afhs.ab.ca/blog/page/3/
Brooklyn Historical Society Blog, http://brooklynhistory.org/blog/
California Genealogical Society and Library Blog , http://blog.californiaancestors.org/
Eastern Washington Genealogical Society Blog, http://ewgs-spokane.blogspot.com/
Grey County Historical Society, http://greycountyhs.blogspot.com/
Itawamba History Review, http://itawambahistory.blogspot.com/
Midwestern Microhistory, http://midwesternmicrohistory.blogspot.com/
MoSGA Messenger, http://mosga.blogspot.com/
My Ancestor's Name, http://myancestorsname.blogspot.com/
New York History, http://www.newyorkhistoryblog.com/
Sandusky History, http://sanduskyhistory.blogspot.com/
St. Vincent Memories, http://56755.blogspot.com
Utah Genealogical Association Blog, http://ugagenealogy.blogspot.com/
Virginia Historical Society Blog, http://vahistorical.wordpress.com/
Williams County, Ohio Genealogy, http://williamscountyohiogenealogy.blogspot.com

Congratulations Top 40:

Brooklyn Historical Society Blog, http://brooklynhistory.org/blog/
California Genealogical Society and Library Blog , http://blog.californiaancestors.org/
Eastern Washington Genealogical Society Blog, http://ewgs-spokane.blogspot.com/
New York History, http://www.newyorkhistoryblog.com/
Sandusky History, http://sanduskyhistory.blogspot.com/

7. NEW BLOGS Category:

Adventures in Genealogy Education, http://www.genealogyeducation.blogspot.com/
Climbing My Family Tree, http://www.climbingmyfamilytree.com/
Have You Seen My Roots? http://haveyouseenmyroots.blogspot.com/
Heritage Zen, http://heritagezen.blogspot.com/
Journey to the Past, http://journeytothepastblog.blogspot.com/
My Tangled Vine, http://mytangledvine.blogspot.com
myirelandhome, http://myirelandhome.com/
Nolichucky Roots, http://nolichuckyroots.blogspot.com/
Old Stones Undeciphered, http://oldstonesundeciphered.blogspot.com/
Pursuits of a Desperate Genie, http://desperategenie.com/
Roots Traveler, http://www.rootstraveler.com/
Sassy Jane Genealogy, http://www.sassyjanegenealogy.blogspot.com
The Faces of my Family, http://thefacesofmyfamily.blogspot.com/
The Family Recorder, http://thefamilyrecorder.blogspot.com/
The Mashburn Collection, http://themashburncollection.com
The Scottish Emigration Blog, http://scottishemigration.blogspot.com/
The Turning of Generations, http://www.turning-of-generations.blogspot.com

Congratulations Top 40:

Climbing My Family Tree, http://www.climbingmyfamilytree.com/
Have You Seen My Roots? http://haveyouseenmyroots.blogspot.com/
Heritage Zen, http://heritagezen.blogspot.com/
Journey to the Past, http://journeytothepastblog.blogspot.com/
Old Stones Undeciphered, http://oldstonesundeciphered.blogspot.com/

8. MY FAMILY HISTORY Category:

Ancestories: The Stories of My Ancestors, http://ancestories1blogspot.com
AtlasFamily.Org Blog, http://blog.atlasfamily.org
Begin With Craft, http://beginwithcraft.blogspot.com/
BeNotForgot, http://benotforgot.blogspot.com/
Circlemending, http://circlemending.blogspot.com/
Everything's Relative, http://genealogybycindy.blogspot.com
Finding Josephine, http://dionneford.wordpress.com/
Finding Our Ancestors, http://researchingoconnells.wordpress.com
Gene notes, http://geneanotes.blogspot.com/
Greta's Genealogy Blog, http://gretabog.blogspot.com/
Little Bytes of Life, http://www.littlebytesoflife.com
Mississippi Memories, http://www.mymississippimemories.blogspot.com
My Channel Island History, http://jerseymo2010.wordpress.com
Nutfield Genealogy, http://nutfieldgenealogy.blogspot.com
Reflections From the Fence, http://www.reflectionsfromthefence.com/
Tangled Trees, http://tangledtrees.blogspot.com/
The Accidental Genealogist, http://www.theaccidentalgenealogist.com/
The Internet Genealogist, http://shbwgen.blogspot.com/
TJLGenes: Preserving Our Family History, http://www.tjlgenes.blogspot.com/
Tonia's Roots, http://www.toniasroots.net/
TransylvanianDutch, http://transylvaniandutch.blogspot.com
West in New England, http://westinnewengland.blogspot.com/
What's Past is Prologue, http://pastprologue.wordpress.com

Congratulations Top 40:

Greta's Genealogy Blog, http://gretabog.blogspot.com/
Little Bytes of Life, http://www.littlebytesoflife.com
Mississippi Memories, http://www.mymississippimemories.blogspot.com
Nutfield Genealogy, http://nutfieldgenealogy.blogspot.com
West in New England, http://westinnewengland.blogspot.com/



14 Comments:

Blogger Cheryl Palmer said...

Congratulations with your wins! So deserved!

March 9, 2011 at 9:44 PM  
Anonymous Elizabeth said...

Congrats! Very deserved.

March 10, 2011 at 9:43 AM  
Blogger Michelle Goodrum said...

Congratulations! A well deserved honor again. I always look forward not only to what you have to say but to what your latest creation is.

March 10, 2011 at 9:44 AM  
Blogger Yvonne said...

Congratulations!

March 10, 2011 at 11:59 AM  
Blogger Janice Tracy said...

Congratulations!

March 10, 2011 at 1:08 PM  
Blogger Greta Koehl said...

Congratulations, O Unnamed Woman!

March 10, 2011 at 2:26 PM  
Blogger Brenda Leyndyke said...

Congratulations!!

March 10, 2011 at 4:12 PM  
Blogger Leslie Ann said...

Congratulations my darling! You so deserve it!

March 11, 2011 at 3:02 AM  
Blogger Tammi Thiele said...

Congrats!

March 11, 2011 at 5:56 PM  
Blogger Cynthia Shenette said...

Congratulations!

March 12, 2011 at 6:41 AM  
Blogger Andrea said...

Congratulations!! Well deserved!!!

March 12, 2011 at 10:28 AM  
Anonymous Jennifer said...

Congrats!!! You deserve it! :)

March 13, 2011 at 12:34 PM  
Anonymous Lynn Palermo said...

Congrats, well deserved!

March 14, 2011 at 6:46 AM  
Blogger Cheryl Cayemberg said...

Congratulations! No surprise...you are someone I know many of us look up to!

March 15, 2011 at 7:23 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home