Monday, December 13, 2010

FTM40 Voting Is Now Open


CONGRATULATIONS!

to all the terrific blogs that have been nominated as one of the 40 Best Genealogy Blogs, AKA Family Tree 40. What a lovely Christmas present.

You are instructed to vote for five nominees in each of the following eight category. To vote, use the survey at www.surveymonkey.com/s/ft40-2011voting. (I do wish the lists had been in alphabetic order.)

The winners will be announced in the July 2011 issue of Family Tree Magazine.

Voting is open until 11:59 p.m. (I do not know which time zone.)
Monday, Dec. 20.
You may vote multiple times.

1. Please choose FIVE Blogs from the EVERYTHING category.

Clue Wagon, http://www.cluewagon.com/
Creative Gene, http://creativegene.blogspot.com/
Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter, http://www.eogn.com
Elyse's Genealogy Blog, http://elysesgenealogyblog.com/
Family History Tracing, http://familyhistorytracing.blogspot.com
footnoteMaven, http://www.footnoteMaven.com
Greta's Genealogy Bog, http://gretabog.blogspot.com/
Olive Tree Genealogy, http://olivetreegenealogy.blogspot.com
Relatively Curious About Genealogy, http://relativelycurious.blogspot.com
Roots and Rambles, http://rootsandrambles.blogspot.com/
SpittalStreet.com, http://www.spittalstreet.com
The Educated Genealogist, http://sherifenley.blogspot.com/
The We Tree Genealogy Blog, http://wetree.blogspot.com/
You Go Genealogy Girls, http://yougogenealogygirls.blogspot.com

2. Please choose FIVE blogs from the CEMETERIES category.

Cemetery Explorers
, http://cemeteryexplorers.blogspot.com/
Digital Cemetery Walk, http://digitalcemeterywalk.blogspot.com/
Escape to the Silent Cities, http://escapetothesilentcities.blogspot.com/
Gen Wish List, http://genwishlist.blogspot.com
Granite in My Blood, http://granite-in-my-blood.blogspot.com/
Gravestoned, http://gravestoned.blogspot.com
Over Thy Dead Body, http://stiffsandstones.blogspot.com/
The Graveyard Rabbit Online Journal, http://oj-graveyardrabbit.blogspot.com/
Tombstone Territory, http://tombstoneterritory.blogspot.com

3. Please choose FIVE blogs from the TECHNOLOGY category.

Ancestry Insider, http://ancestryinsider.blogspot.com
Dienekes' Anthropology Blog, http://dienekes.blogspot.com/
Family Oral History Using Digital Tools, http://familyoralhistory.us/news
Genealogy's Star, http://genealogysstar.blogspot.com/
GeneaNet Genealogy Blog, http://genealogyblog.geneanet.org/
JLog, http://www.jgen.ws/jlog/
MacGenealogy.org, http://www.macgenealogy.org/
MobileGenealogy.com, http://www.mobilegenealogy.com
Moultrie Creek Gazette, http://moultriecreek.us
Renee's Genealogy Blog, http://rzamor1.blogspot.com

4. Please choose FIVE Blogs from the HERITAGE GROUPS category.

Acadian & French-Canadian Ancestral Home, http://acadian-ancestral-home.blogspot.com
Anglo-Celtic Connections, http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/
Black and Red Journal, http://www,blackandredjournal.blogspot.com
Donna's Ireland blog, http://moughty.com/Site/Ireland_Blog/Ireland_Blog.html
Geniaus, http://geniaus.blogspot.com
George Geder Evangelist for African Ancestored Genealogy, http://gedergenealogy.com/
Georgia Black Crackers, http://georgiablackcrackers.blogspot.com/
Help! The Faerie Folk Hid My Ancestors, http://irishfamilyresearch.blogspot.com/
Luxegen Genealogy, http://www.luxegen.ca
Of Trolls And Lemons, http://haugenhistory.blogspot.com/
Scottish GENES, http://scottishancestry.blogspot.com
The French Genealogy Blog, http://french-genealogy.typepad.com/genealogie/
The Knowles Collection, http://knowlescollection.blogspot.com/
The Scottish Emigration Blog, http://scottishemigration.blogspot.com/
Tracing the Tribe, http://tracingthetribe.blogspot.com/
Wandering and wondering (a'spaidsearachd agus a'meòrachadh), http://direcleit.blogspot.com

5. Please choose FIVE Blogs from the RESEARCH ADVICE/HOW-TO category.

a3Genealogy, http://a3Genealogy.blogspot.com
FamHist, http://famhist2.blogspot.com
Family History Research Tips, http://familyhistorytips.wordpress.com/
Gena's Genealogy, http://philibertfamily.blogspot.com/
Genealogy Tip of the Day, http://genealogytipoftheday.blogspot.com
NARAtions: The Blog of the United States National Archives, http://blogs.archives.gov/online-public-access/
Paula's Genealogical Eclectica, http://paulastuartwarren.blogspot.com/
Personal Past Meditations, http://www.thepersonalpast.com
Pollyblog, http://pk-pollyblog.blogspot.com
Shades of the Departed, http://www.shadesofthedeparted.com/
The Armchair Genealogist, http://www.thearmchairgenealogist.com
The Family Curator, http://www.thefamilycurator.com/

6. Please choose FIVE blogs from the LOCAL/REGIONAL RESEARCH category.

Alberta Family Histories Society Blog
, http://afhs.ab.ca/blog/page/3/
Brooklyn Historical Society Blog, http://brooklynhistory.org/blog/
California Genealogical Society and Library Blog , http://blog.californiaancestors.org/
Eastern Washington Genealogical Society Blog, http://ewgs-spokane.blogspot.com/
Grey County Historical Society, http://greycountyhs.blogspot.com/
Itawamba History Review, http://itawambahistory.blogspot.com/
Midwestern Microhistory, http://midwesternmicrohistory.blogspot.com/
MoSGA Messenger, http://mosga.blogspot.com/
My Ancestor's Name, http://myancestorsname.blogspot.com/
New York History, http://www.newyorkhistoryblog.com/
Sandusky History, http://sanduskyhistory.blogspot.com/
St. Vincent Memories, http://56755.blogspot.com
Utah Genealogical Association Blog, http://ugagenealogy.blogspot.com/
Virginia Historical Society Blog, http://vahistorical.wordpress.com/
Williams County, Ohio Genealogy, http://williamscountyohiogenealogy.blogspot.com

7. Please choose FIVE blogs from the NEW BLOGS category.

Adventures in Genealogy Education, http://www.genealogyeducation.blogspot.com/
Climbing My Family Tree, http://www.climbingmyfamilytree.com/
Have You Seen My Roots? http://haveyouseenmyroots.blogspot.com/
Heritage Zen, http://heritagezen.blogspot.com/
Journey to the Past, http://journeytothepastblog.blogspot.com/
My Tangled Vine, http://mytangledvine.blogspot.com
myirelandhome, http://myirelandhome.com/
Nolichucky Roots, http://nolichuckyroots.blogspot.com/
Old Stones Undeciphered, http://oldstonesundeciphered.blogspot.com/
Pursuits of a Desperate Genie, http://desperategenie.com/
Roots Traveler, http://www.rootstraveler.com/
Sassy Jane Genealogy, http://www.sassyjanegenealogy.blogspot.com
The Faces of my Family, http://thefacesofmyfamily.blogspot.com/
The Family Recorder, http://thefamilyrecorder.blogspot.com/
The Mashburn Collection, http://themashburncollection.com
The Scottish Emigration Blog, http://scottishemigration.blogspot.com/
The Turning of Generations, http://www.turning-of-generations.blogspot.com

8. Please choose FIVE Blogs from the MY FAMILY HISTORY category.

Ancestories: The Stories of My Ancestors, http://ancestories1blogspot.com
AtlasFamily.Org Blog, http://blog.atlasfamily.org
Begin With Craft, http://beginwithcraft.blogspot.com/
BeNotForgot, http://benotforgot.blogspot.com/
Circlemending, http://circlemending.blogspot.com/
Everything's Relative, http://genealogybycindy.blogspot.com
Finding Josephine, http://dionneford.wordpress.com/
Finding Our Ancestors, http://researchingoconnells.wordpress.com
Gene notes, http://geneanotes.blogspot.com/
Greta's Genealogy Blog, http://gretabog.blogspot.com/
Little Bytes of Life, http://www.littlebytesoflife.com
Mississippi Memories, http://www.mymississippimemories.blogspot.com
My Channel Island History, http://jerseymo2010.wordpress.com
Nutfield Genealogy, http://nutfieldgenealogy.blogspot.com
Reflections From the Fence, http://www.reflectionsfromthefence.com/
Tangled Trees, http://tangledtrees.blogspot.com/
The Accidental Genealogist, http://www.theaccidentalgenealogist.com/
The Internet Genealogist, http://shbwgen.blogspot.com/
TJLGenes: Preserving Our Family History, http://www.tjlgenes.blogspot.com/
Tonia's Roots, http://www.toniasroots.net/
TransylvanianDutch, http://transylvaniandutch.blogspot.com
West in New England, http://westinnewengland.blogspot.com/
What's Past is Prologue, http://pastprologue.wordpress.com

And I am remiss in not pointing out that just because your blog
is not on this list means you are not a great genealogy blogger.
(Think Dancing With The Stars!) Several of my all-time favorite
blogs did not make this list. I voted for them,
I •✩♡✩• them, and I will continue to
read and enjoy them.
Lists, Bah HumBug!

7 Comments:

Anonymous Carol Yates Wilkerson said...

Huge congratulations to everyone chosen!

December 13, 2010 at 11:46 AM  
Blogger Lisa said...

Congratulations to all of the nominees! What a great group!

Lisa
100 Years in America
Small-leaved Shamrock
A light that shines again
Carnival of Irish Heritage & Culture

December 13, 2010 at 4:22 PM  
Blogger Lisa Swanson Ellam said...

I absolutely agree with you! Some of my favorites on not on the list but I still love them! I was happy to see many of my favs did make the list and I will be voting often for all of them!

December 13, 2010 at 7:24 PM  
Blogger Tina Lyons said...

Congrats to you fM! Love reading your blog.

December 14, 2010 at 4:35 AM  
Anonymous Joan Miller (Luxegen) said...

Congratulations to all and especially to fM. Love your blog!

December 14, 2010 at 11:14 AM  
Blogger Martin said...

Please remove my blog from the list. I can't figure out your email from your blog page, BTW, very frustrating. In any Diane Haddad has removed me and I want you to do the same.

Slovak Yankee

December 14, 2010 at 1:48 PM  
Blogger Abba-Dad said...

A little late, but I voted for all your blogs. Well earned!

December 19, 2010 at 9:19 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home